March 03, 2001

KVEA-TV and the Latin Business Association (LBA) hosted its 5th annual "Hispanic Business Salute Luncheon on March 29, 2001.

Business and community leaders from all walks of life, in the greater Los Angeles area, joined together and celebrate Latino entrepreneurs who are making significant contributions in such areas as corporate travel, community and economic development consulting, insurance services, business systems and health and medicine areas.

"These remarkable Latino business leaders represent countless fields, including economic development, travel and health and medicine businesses," said Fernando Lopez, vice president and general manager of KVEA-TV, Channel 52. "I commend and congratulate this year's recipients and wish them well in their future endeavors."

Former Speaker of the California Assembly, Antonio Villaraigosa delivered the keynote speech at the event. President of the Telemundo Station Group, Rick Blangiardi delivered the guest of honor speech.

FSix distinguished honorees were saluted for their exemplary ongoing business commitment to the Latino community:

Ruben Arenas, Arenas Travel, Inc.

Rudy Sanchez, Balboa Collection Service

Debra Esparza, Esparza & Associates

Carlos Alfaro, Alfaro & Alfaro Insurance Services

Oscar M. Lobatto, A.O.A. Business Systems, Inc.

J. Mario Molina, MD, Molina Healthcare, Inc.

Education is a top priority on the agenda among issues of concern for Latinos today. For this reason, KVEA-TV, Channel 52 has incorporated a Latino Senior High School Student Scholarship Program in collaboration with The East Los Angeles Community Union (TELACU) Education Foundation. For the first year, we will provide three scholarship grants in the amount of $2,000 and a personal computer to each student.

The students were selected based on a GPA of 2.0; are Latino senior high students accepted into a college or university; and are a journalism/communications, business administration and engineering and/or science majors with contributions made to the community. Following are the three Hispanic Business Scholarship recipients:

Elizabeth Bugarin, Physical Science Major

Jessica Ledesma, Biological Science Major

Manuel Ruiz, Journalism Major

Leave a reply

Enter the characters shown in the image.